RRB NTPC Mains Exam Pattern for Railway 2nd Stage CBT 2017 - W3i.iN


RRB NTPC Mains Exam Pattern for Railway 2nd Stage CBT 2017

RRB NTPC Mains Exam Pattern for Railway Non-Technical 2nd Stage CBT Exam 2017: Looking for RRB NTPC 2nd Stage Exam Pattern? As you know, RRB NTPC 1st Stage CBT result announced. If you are qualified in Railway ASM, Goods Guard online exam held in March, April & May of this year, we have an update for you regarding Railway NTPC Mains exam Date. Here in this post below, we have come up with Railway NTPC Mains exam pattern.

As we all know, RRB (Recruitment Board) has recently changed Railway Exam Pattern and introduced Second Stage (Mains) exam in its recruitment process. Railway has also decided to call 15 Times/ 2.74 Lakh candidates for Railway RRB NTPC Mains exam.
Revised Scheme of Examination for RRB CEN 03/2015 announced. Railway New Exam Pattern (Computer Based Online Exam) has been implemented in its all upcoming RRB NTPC recruitment process. The Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) has introduced a big change and it is that there will be Second Stage Online exam (CBT). Those candidates who clear the 1st Stage CBT, the qualifiers of this exam have been called for 2nd Stage Mains exam.

Dear aspirants, most of you are aware that recently, The Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) has made change in recruitment process of all Non-Technical posts i.e. Assistant Station Master, Goods Guard, Commercial & Traffic Apprentice, which will be applicable from this year (2016) onwards. With respect to these change, we are getting lot of queries – what is new RRB NTPC Mains Exam Pattern.

RRB NTPC Mains Exam Pattern 2016

After announcement of RRB NTPC Exam Result, we were expecting RRB NTPC Exam Pattern changed for the year 2016 which has become true now. So, changes in the pattern will have following implications:

Second Stage CBT (Mains) exam will be held in computer based examination mode, treating 1st Stage CBT examination as only qualifying etc.

The Recruitment Board has decided to increase the Number of Questions from 100 to 120 in RRB NTPC Mains exam which would now carry 120 marks.

Railway RRB NTPC Pattern for 2nd Stage CBT Exam

Under the provisions of the Notice regarding changes in RRB NTPC exam pattern, the Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) has decided to increase the Number of Questions from 100 to 120 in 1st Stage of the above Examination which would now carry 120 marks. The duration of the 2nd Stage CBT Online examination would be for a period of 90 minutes, with no changes in timings. It has also been decided to conduct the RRB NTPC 2nd Stage CBT in computer based examination mode. Most probably, Railway Non-Technical Mains online exam is scheduled to be held in January or February 2017. Check out the complete details of RRB NTPC Mains exam pattern:-

Sl No.
Name of the Paper
No. Of Question
Full Marks
Total Time
Arithmetic/ Math
1.5 Hours (90 Minute)
General Science
General Awareness + Current
General Intelligence/ Reasoning

  • Accordingly, the revised scheme of RRB NTPC 2nd Stage examination is detailed below:
  • There will be negative marking of 0.33 for each wrong answer in 2nd Stage CBT.
  • There have been no changes in exam mode and the negative marking system will remain unchanged.
In addition to above, the Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) has also decided to call 15times more candidates in each Railway Zone for Second Stage CBT exam. The Question Paper will be bilingual. The candidates will have the option to choose any one medium. 

The final merit will be prepared on overall performance in Second Stage CBT & Aptitude Test or Psycho Test whichever is applicable. However, the candidate will need to qualify 1st Stage CBT exam.

Document Verification will also be conducted as per the provisions of the notice of examination.
Candidates are hereby notified that the above mentioned Mains exam pattern is for all Railway Recruitment Boards including RRB Ahmedabad, RRB Ajmer, RRB Allahabad, RRB Banglore, RRB Bhopal, RRB Bhubaneswar, RRB Bilaspur, RRB Chandigarh, RRB Chennai, RRB Gorakhpur, RRB Guwahati, RRB J&K, RRB Kolkata, RRB Malda, RRB Mumbai, RRB Muzaffarpur, RRB Patna, RRB Ranchi, RRB Secunderabad, RRB Siliguri and RRB Thiruvananthapuram.